Scholarships for Local Nursing Students Sets a New Record

$169,683 awarded from The William G. and Ruth T. Evans Endowed Nursing Scholarship

Ashland Community Hospital Foundation (ACHF) is pleased to announce that 16 worthy candidates have been awarded scholarships ranging from $5,000 to $15,000 for the 2021-2022 academic year from The William G. and Ruth T. Evans Endowed Nursing Scholarship.

We would like to congratulate each of the recipients on their significant achievement: Richard Bernoulli, Gabriela Bustos Ramos, Lizet Fernandez Estes, Hailey Fredenberg, Amy Hickey, Dylan LeGrady, Danielle Montez, Lauren Morgan, Coleman Penkala, Crystal Richard, Adriana Sanchez, Robin Sanchez, Kelsey Strouse, Elva Valencia, Dayna Vogt, and Luke Vranna.

Eligible applicants are students pursuing registered nursing degrees at Oregon Health Science University (OHSU) at Southern Oregon University (SOU) or at Rogue Community College (RCC), and intend to work in the Rogue Valley after graduation.

Each year the ACHF scholarship selection committee receives a number of applications from qualified students for the highly competitive scholarship. After thoughtful deliberation, the committee was pleased to be able to award $160,000 in scholarships to the chosen students, the largest amount ever granted since the inception of the scholarship program.

We would like to recognize a special contribution made in 2020 from the Evans Family, and an estate gift from Barbara Field and the late Sidney Field, which helped significantly increase the number of scholarships awarded this year.

An additional $9,683 is scheduled to be awarded to the 23 students in the graduating class of RCC’s Licensed Practical Nursing Program. The scholarship will cover the cost of state licensing and exam fees for graduates so they can move swiftly into the workforce.

A nurse herself, Ruth Evans, recognized the need for nurses and the importance of education. Mrs. Evans established the nursing scholarship in 2002. Although she passed away in 2013, her legacy continues. Since 2002, 344 scholarships have been awarded to 277 local students. The value of those scholarships is more than $963,646.